What’s for tea?

For me and our family, good quality and tasty meals are a main part of  happy life…mealtimes are not just there for the basic need of actually having to eat, but a time to sit, relax and enjoy something together while talking over the day.  However, I don’t want to spend hours in the kitchen (I don’t have hours to spend in the kitchen!) or lots of money on expensive ingredients so I try to plan and be as creative as possible to ensure what we eat is lovely for less!  There will be more posts coming on shopping and how I have saved money so far this year by tweaking my shopping habits, but for now…what are we having this week?

 A plan is vital…the stress is gone if you know what you are having and that you have the ingredients for it.  This week we will have :

Ready meal (weight watchers pasta for me, pie and cauli cheese for Bruce…its Monday! I go to zumba and B eats alone later)

 Belly pork slices (reduced to £2 per pack and been loitering in freezer) in homemade BBQ sauce (ingredients from store cupboard) with brown rice (I batch cook brown rice a whole packet at a time and then freeze in individual portions for quicker teatime)

 Gammon, baked pots and veg (kindly supplied and cooker here by my mum and dad as B is away!)

 Pasta and red pesto…Plums absolute current favourite

 Bumper mac and cheese…I will add a little interest and extra nutrition to this classic with a couple of slices of bacon from the butcher and some sprouts and spinach from the freezer

 Pan fried trout (B caught it last week on a fishing trip) with gnocchi (we drizzle them in oil and bake in oven…like lovely tasty roasties…yum!) and green beans

 Homemade chunky soup

 Then its Monday again!

 Our eating patterns vary around the shifts B is working, whether I am going to zumba (1 or 2 nights per week) and Prunella and bedtime…but as a rule we aim to eat as a whole family once a week, I eat with Prunella another 2 times (she eats slightly differently from us and also as requires full assistance to feed it does mean someone ends up with a cold meal as they are helping her and that is not great every night but it is important that we create family mealtimes as much as we can manage!)  and the other nights B and I eat together once Plum is down at 7 so I like to have something I can have mostly prepared and is cooking away while I do bath and bed and is ready to tuck into by 7.15ish. Oh, and although B doesn’t work a Monday to Friday pattern I like to mark the weekend by having a nice tea on Saturday and often a kind of roast (not the works but some meat and veg combo!) and wine!!!

 So what are you eating this week? What is your eating pattern and are you happy with it? What changes would you make to it?  Love to hear what and how you eat….xx

3 thoughts on “What’s for tea?

  1. Hi ..we are ‘kindred spirits’…I am always to found ‘loitering with intent’ by ‘CREDIT CRUNCH CORNER….I even ask where they stack it all now… to grab any bargains…mostly Organic….then I batch cook….n freeze into portions….we have Chiken roast this evening..with Tarragon…and roast pots..broccolli…we are retired..so mostly tend to eat the same …love making lots of soup….freeze this too…mind you..it often defies identification once in the freezer where invariably the labels fall off….soooo life is always an adventure..:-)

  2. Denis is a nightmare- tesco is Erin’s fave place to go, and he goes every day- so we spend an absolute fortune! I wondered about making our own bread and getting milk delivered to avoid those trips ‘just for bread and milk’ where we end up spending 20/30quid on crap, but I’m not sure if it would work out cheaper than just trying not to spend in store!

  3. I have started making my own bread which is very therapeutic and much better for us than shop bought loafs, altho there’s lots of time required for the dough to prove etc, the actual time I spend manually doing it is only 25 minutes so it’s well worth it I think and you can get 3 loafs out of a big bag of flour. I tend to plan too and do my shop on a Monday morning with Nancy whilst Ruby is at nursery….we tend to have chicken with veg on a Monday, fish on a Tuesday, Weds are variable, stirfry on a Thu and I tend to do the usual cooking and freezing of bolognaise, sausage casserole, curry etc which get plucked out on other days…..quite like doing a picky tea over the weekend which is usually crackers, bread, cheese, pate etc with wine of course.

Leave a Reply

